Racism Alive And Well

OKay so I know dreams aren’t ‘real’. I know that they are just. Dreams. Still, what I see the things that I have in my dreams, I can’t help but notice. I had a pretty bad night. Hard time sleeping. I remember having dream after dream of something that really really unnerved me but couldn’t remember what it was when I then woke up. The last one I remember pretty well though, and I just can’t believe it.

So, first off, I am a very German woman and very proud of it. My family hails from Germany and the areas around there, but it’s mainly there and Denmark. What I saw in my dream pisses me off. It was racism. Yeah, I know racism who cares blow it off right? My family came here for a better life, of that I’m pretty sure. After WWII, Germans were treated horribly. They were forced to do crazy things because apparently people thought it their duty to punish them for something that they did NOT have a choice to even oppose. Any who opposed got killed in brutal manners. Yes, the leaders killed their own people. It wasn’t just the jews that got it. Yeah it was aimed there, but their people were taken out, shot beat, raped, gassed and all sorts of stuff. All if they decided they didn’t like the way it went. So, they learned to stay silent try and live their lives and wait for a better day. Often putting their lives at risk to help one each other. Then afterwards everything is taken from them by a different source. Any Germans in the usa were mocked and given poor wages by any standard that they could barely live off of if at all. People refused to buy from anyone that was German. One of the things if I remember my history correctly, was one of the things that fueled the immigrant movement for better wages and treatment for people that moved here to try and escape the way their own country was working. Just because they were from a certain place. Because they looked a certain way. We are treated a certain way. We are gypped of things that we could have had. Our base rights taken. CHILDREN STARVED because of what the US did to Germany. People don’t see it. The victor writes the story right. It wasn’t even most of their faults. It wasn’t the Nazi’s that really suffered. It was the bottom class. What do you think drove them for the second world war after the first? Desperation. After you watch your child slowly, slowly starve to death you just..can’t any more. You want something different. A lot of people put their hopes on Hitler. He promised them that they wouldn’t starve any more. I guess, what they didn’t realize was the cost. They saw it afterward but it was too late. It was so horrible. And people blame the Germans. They cripple them in so many ways. It is just racism. and man it makes me ..I don’t know. I know it was just a dream, but it made me remember. It made me see. I don’t know.

Even today the racism is astounding. I see it a lot more clearly right now. Maybe I’m just being sensitive, but that doesn’t make it right. People mainly think of blacks, Jews, Mexicans, Asians, when they think racism. When Germans are brought up, they go oh they deserve it. Why? That’s my question. Why do Germans deserve it? Because one man did all that? I didn’t. I’m German. Do I deserve it? You going to take the food out of my son’s mouth? Are you going to starve him too? Does HE deserve it? Think. Just think.

Leave a comment